miércoles, 31 de agosto de 2016

Reseña: The Trouble with Women

+Digital copy gently provided by Netgalley in exchange for an honest review+


The Trouble with Women 

by 

Jacky Fleming


128 pages
Expected publication: September 20th 2016 by Andrews McMeel Publishing (first published February 18th 2016)
ISBN 1449479766 (ISBN13: 9781449479763)
Edition Language English


SINOPSIS  Perfect for fans of Kate Beaton, Lena Dunham, and Caitlin Moran, The Trouble with Women is a feminist's brilliant, tongue-in-cheek, hysterical look at women's "issues," "frailties," and "failures" in our not-so-distant history.
Ever noticed that women don't feature much in history books, and wondered why? Then this is the book for you. In The Trouble with Women, feminist artist Jacky Fleming illustrates how the opinions of supposed male geniuses, such as Charles Darwin (who believed that women have smaller brains than men) and John Ruskin (who believed that women's main function was to praise men), have shaped the fate of women through history, confining them to a life of domesticity and very little else.


My rating: 4 tars




My feeble tiny spongy brain feel like fainting and a bit histerical after reading this enlightening book about the historical vision of women from many ejem 'well knowing' men.



lunes, 29 de agosto de 2016

Reseña: Juana and Lucas

+Digital copy gently provided by Netgalley in exchange for a honest review+


Juana and Lucas 

by  

Juana Medina


96 pages
Expected publication: September 27th 2016 by Candlewick Press
ISBN
0763672084 (ISBN13: 9780763672089)
Edition Language English
My rating: 3 stars




I wanted to read something fluffy after my last book, so I grab this. A children book. Cute drawings, btw.

Juana lives in Bogota, Colombia, goes to school, has a dog (Lucas), and talks about her dailies activities , plus likes and dislikes as every child. 



I'm not really sure, but the story seems directed to bilingual children, there are spanish words in some points (kind of spanglish), and that confused me a bit. Then the ejem big conflict in the book is because she didn't understand why she has to learn The English.

sábado, 27 de agosto de 2016

Reseña: El poder y la gloria

El poder y la gloria 

by  

Graham Greene



Original Title: The Power and the Glory

(The whisky priest)

247 pags.

settin gMexico

Literary Awards:Hawthornden Prize (1941)
 
 SINOPSIS El poder y la gloria es sin duda una de las novelas máximas de nuestro siglo. Obsesionado por el problema del mal como tema en torno al cual gira toda su obra narrativa, el autor lleva a cabo en este libro una exploración implacable de los misterios del Bien y del Mal. Esta es la historia del padre José, un sacerdote atormentado por su conciencia que se debate entre el servicio a su comunidad y los remordimientos por su sentimiento de pecador, pues es padre de una joven. Pero además la acción transcurre durante la época en que en México el catolicismo fue perseguido, en los años veinte, y la suya es la historia de una huida de las autoridades. A partir de ella construye Greene una impresionante novela sobre el pecado y el fracaso moral. Igualmente logrados están los personajes secundarios: una joven demasiado madura para su corta edad, un teniente cruel que persigue de un modo implacable al sacerdote o el coro que forman los habitantes de los pueblos mexicanos. Hay quienes consideran ésta novela en la que mejor planteó Greene los debates internos de sus personajes.

Resulta demasiado fácil morir por lo bueno o hermoso, por el hogar o los hijos o la civilización: fue necesario un Dios que muriese por los hombres mezquinos y corrompidos.


Este libro figura entre los 100 mejores libros desde los años 20's al presente según la revista Time. A mi me dejó marcando ocupado (de ahi la falta de estrellas, pues aun lo estoy pensando)

La historia situada en México de los años 20's cuando el gobernador de Tabasco (Partido Socialista Radical), entre otras medidas, prohibe el alcohol y declara ilegal la Iglesia Católica y todas sus representaciones: sacerdotes, iglesias y hasta las cruces en las tumbas.

Si Dios fuera igual a un sapo, uno podría librar de ellos al mundo; pero ya que Dios era como uno mismo, no servía de nada estropear las figuras de piedra: sería preciso suicidarse entre las sepulturas.

miércoles, 3 de agosto de 2016

Reseña : Devolution (comic)


-Digital copy gently provided by NetGalley in exchange for an honest review-

Devolution 

by  

Rick Remender

SKU: C1524100285
Rating: Mature
Cover: Jae Lee
Writer: Rick Remender
Art: Jonathan Wayshak

  144 pages

Expected publication: August 23rd 2016 by Dynamite Entertainment
ISBN:1524100285 (ISBN13: 9781524100285)
 SINOPSIS: Every living creature on Earth has been devolved - the evolutionary clock turned back, reverting all life to odd mutations and prehistoric incarnations. The cities of man are little more than bloody territories ruthlessly dominated by tribal Neanderthals ruling from the backs of mammoths, packs of saber-toothed tigers, and giant man-eating insects. Raja, one of the few remaining "Still Sapien" humans, heads to San Francisco to find the antidote for the world-changing DVO-8 viral agent. But to cross the wasteland, she'll have to convince the last pocket of humanity to join her quest... and survive the Nazi hillbillies that rule them through fear! 

Rick Remender, the acclaimed writer of Black Science, Low, and Deadly Class, unleashes a high-octane dystopian masterpiece on the world, featuring the brilliant artistry of Jonathan Wayshak!

 
My rating: 1,5 shocking stars
bookshelves: netgalley, post-apocalyptic, graphic-novel, adult-mature, bloody-and-gory, comics,


What a mess. A virus invented to erase the religion from humans ...wha?? (yes, a really farfetched premise for a story full of cliches who you could encounter in a midnight "z-movie") transformed the humanity in mad neardenthals , and mutating the rest of biosphere into jurassic park. Yeah, pseudoscience evading all idea of logic. As if neanderthals won't be able to invent some kind of myth and rites (religion) :roll eyes::.

pdf000010bb 

LinkWithin

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...